Not A Member Yet? See All The Features Of The Forum By Clicking Here To Register For FREE! Or Members Login Below:

Cyprus Eastern Forum Index Cyprus Eastern Forum Index
Offering Free Help, Advice, Tips & Support for those buying or living in:
Paralimni - Protaras - Pernera - Kapparis - Agia Napa - Larnaca - Oroklini - Pervolia - Kiti - Xylofagou
Vrysoulles - Frenaros - Dherynia - Sotira - Agia Thekla - Liopetri - Ormidia & surrounding areas...

 
Main Homepage Cyprus Eastern Forum Index Register Directory Memberlist Search

  Ads By Forum Sponsors

    
Cyprus Eastern Forum Index » Computer Corner » laptop repair
Post new topic  Reply to topic   View previous topic : View next topic 
laptop repair 
Post: #1   PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:20 pm Reply with quote
madmum
Joined: 01 May 2016
Posts: 1012
Pictures: 0
Location: protaras

 
Is there anyone that will come and repair laptops at your home. been using cyta broadband with no problems since march. then this week it disconnected & cant get it back. had 2 days with it saying something about windows settings. restored laptop to date 2 weeks ago. googled & got lots of things to try. none of it worked. now today its changed to saying not in range. but only 3 feet from box. the broadband is ok on phones, ipad & other laptop so not a problem with cyta. laptop connects to daughter plug in primetel broadband ok.

Laptop is about 3 years old on windows 8. have given up after 2 evenings trying to sort it. found lots in paralimni that do repairs but as its a problem with a home broadband connection sure they would have to come here to fix it.

maybe time to get a new laptop
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel


Hide These Ads? Register for Free or Login

 
Post: #2   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:47 am Reply with quote
Bobbeer
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 4516
Pictures: 8
Location: Ayia Thekla

 
Are you using wifi or hard wire connection to the router/modem?

_________________
Kind regards
Bob
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #3   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:11 am Reply with quote
J B
Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 1364
Pictures: 0
Location: Shropshire/Staffordshire/Cheshire (UK) and Tala (Paphos) sometimes!

 
Presume you have restarted the laptop and the router?

I believe that CYTA have a useful telephone helpdesk, have you tried them?

Smile

_________________
J B
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #4   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:38 am Reply with quote
madmum
Joined: 01 May 2016
Posts: 1012
Pictures: 0
Location: protaras

 
J B wrote:
Presume you have restarted the laptop and the router?

I believe that CYTA have a useful telephone helpdesk, have you tried them?

Smile


yes i have lots of times. cant be the router as other gadgets working fine & tv too. did think of ringing cyta but they will prob tell me to do complicated things & im pretty useless so think better to get someone to do it. did look on we site at problems but altho got it in english there is links to open pages which are then in greek & wont translate
found ultimate solutions on google, they are based in limassol but have offices all over & 1 nearby in ayia napa. do fix in homes for 35euro an hour, hoping wouldnt take more than 1 hour so emailed them.
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #5   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:16 am Reply with quote
Bobbeer
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 4516
Pictures: 8
Location: Ayia Thekla

 
It is probably the network adapter in the laptop.
Maybe the driver has been corrupted and needs to be reloaded or updated.

_________________
Kind regards
Bob
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #6   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:04 am Reply with quote
madmum
Joined: 01 May 2016
Posts: 1012
Pictures: 0
Location: protaras

 
Bobbeer wrote:
It is probably the network adapter in the laptop.
Maybe the driver has been corrupted and needs to be reloaded or updated.


think it is somethng like that as router works fine on e everything else & laptop ok with the primetel plug in broadband. tho didnt realise it would have a driver as when cyta connected broadband in house he just said try it on laptop & it was there in available networks. put in password the first time & clicked connect automatically which is always has done since march.

maybe laptop is on its way out. got free upgrade to windows 10. had for about a month then turned it on & reverted itself back to windows 8. all the maintenance things that tell you to update never work. will sit for an hour looking ok then message saying couldnt be completed
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #7   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:29 am Reply with quote
Kwacka
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 15134
Pictures: 3
Location: Republic of Cyprus

 
1. As you can connect to other networks, your laptop's wifi card is working correctly.

2. As others can connect to your router, your router is working correctly.

Do you get any messages when you attempt to connect to your router with your laptop?

Have you deleted ('forget this connection' in MS-speak) the cytanet connection from your windows network link, and attempted to set up a new connection to your router?

Links only visible to Registered Members
Register for Free or Login to the forum.

_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter - W.S. Churchill
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #8   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:15 pm Reply with quote
kanebill
Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 468
Pictures: 0

 
I don't believe he said he connected wirelessly to other networks.

_________________
"It is never wrong to revisit, rethink and, if necessary, tweak an established theory", Matthias Sonnleitner
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel


Hide These Ads? Register for Free or Login

 
Post: #9   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:04 pm Reply with quote
madmum
Joined: 01 May 2016
Posts: 1012
Pictures: 0
Location: protaras

 
Kwacka wrote:
1. As you can connect to other networks, your laptop's wifi card is working correctly.

2. As others can connect to your router, your router is working correctly.

Do you get any messages when you attempt to connect to your router with your laptop?

Have you deleted ('forget this connection' in MS-speak) the cytanet connection from your windows network link, and attempted to set up a new connection to your router?

Links only visible to Registered Members
Register for Free or Login to the forum.



First 2 days said something’ about windows security then yesterday just said out of range when sat next to router
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #10   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:36 pm Reply with quote
madmum
Joined: 01 May 2016
Posts: 1012
Pictures: 0
Location: protaras

 
Bobbeer wrote:
It is probably the network adapter in the laptop.
Maybe the driver has been corrupted and needs to be reloaded or updated.


got on to some network settings page & says driver is latest version & device working. sounds OK except its not working
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #11   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:38 pm Reply with quote
madmum
Joined: 01 May 2016
Posts: 1012
Pictures: 0
Location: protaras

 
Kwacka wrote:
1. As you can connect to other networks, your laptop's wifi card is working correctly.

2. As others can connect to your router, your router is working correctly.

Do you get any messages when you attempt to connect to your router with your laptop?

Have you deleted ('forget this connection' in MS-speak) the cytanet connection from your windows network link, and attempted to set up a new connection to your router?

Links only visible to Registered Members
Register for Free or Login to the forum.



well thought i deleted it but is still there. did forget this network option as well. did try to set up new connection but didnt work. then quite likely i put details in wrong in drop down box with lots of options
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #12   PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:41 pm Reply with quote
madmum
Joined: 01 May 2016
Posts: 1012
Pictures: 0
Location: protaras

 
kanebill wrote:
I don't believe he said he connected wirelessly to other networks.



Did say that. on daughters primetel plug in broadband & automatically connects still. not a good alternative tho as very low monthly allowance

And i'm not a HE xxxxx
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
 
Post: #13   PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:52 am Reply with quote
Lyndi
Joined: 11 Dec 2009
Posts: 831
Pictures: 0
Location: Vrysoulles

 
Try Colin Tel No 99347966......that's who I and a number of friends use....

HTH

Cheers,
Lyndi.

_________________
Learn From Yesterday, Live For Today & Hope For Tomorrow.................
Personal Photo Album View user's profile Send e-mail Cyprus News,Weather & Travel
laptop repair 
  Cyprus Eastern Forum Index » Computer Corner
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
  


All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  



  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic   
Search Tags: #laptop #repair



 Facebook Page    Facebook Group    Our Channel    Cyprus eBay Search    Shopping To Cyprus    Contact Admin   SmartFeed RSS Feed



BUYING PROPERTY IN CYPRUS? PLEASE ENSURE THAT YOU SEEK INDEPENDENT LEGAL ADVICE FIRST.
Cyprus forum covering Kapparis, Protaras, Pernera, Agia Napa, Agia Thekla, Paralimni, Larnaca, Oroklini, Pervolia & surrounding areas
Please note that the views expressed on this forum are those of the author and may not reflect the views of the management.
* Problems Logging In? Click To Contact Us | Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group Design Style: VTrushkin | View Lo-Fi Version